Twinkle Star has Burned Out

So my daughter turned six. For years I have sang her “Twinkle Star” and ended it with “I love you just the way you are.”
The last few nights she has refused Twinkle Star; a new era.
I remember my mom used to pop my butt with a towel lovingly when I was a child stating, “Kid Rabbit.” And there came a day I resisted the whole routine.
It’s growing up, a new era.
What else do we grow out of? Old loves? Clothing? Interests?
It’s a growth toward a new being; a new way of existence. It’s an evolution of our personalities and our spirits. It’s a new phase of life. What will that bring?
Think about it, ponder it for a minute, what have you grown out of and then grown into? What is the new phase of life? What is cherished and beloved in the past; but not so much a part of your life now?
For me, I have grown out of my skinny pants and am ready to embrace the life change for better health. I have learned compassion for my body. I made a list of traits I love–my eyes, hair color and hair cut (natural blonde); my overall shape; the fact I have two legs to walk; arms that move; lungs that breathe; eyes that see; my mental faculties; well=for the most part. A practice of self compassion rather than self sabotage.
So remind yourself that things change; nothing is permanent; and to not only practice compassion toward others but compassion toward yourself. Sometimes that is the hardest thing to do; self compassion. And we are all along the line of personal growth, transition, and sometimes the twinkle star will burn out to beget a brighter star.

Leave a comment